Benaiah is One

Our happy birthday boy! (Grant actually ironed on the “1” and the monkey! He did an awesome job!)

Benaiah celebrated his first birthday last week and let’s just say, I’m exhausted from all the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ We spent his actual birthday celebrating as a family by going to Chick-fil-a for lunch, running a few errands for his big party, and ending it with breakfast for dinner!

Then, on Saturday, we had his big party! I decided to do a Curious George theme, because it’s one of Benaiah’s favorite shows, and he likes the books too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I went a little crazy with the decorations, but I couldn’t help myself…I found WAY too many cute ideas on Pinterest so I had to incorporate them!

Two of my best friends came down that morning to help me set up everything. ย It would have taken me all day, but with their help, it only took a few hours. ย Here are a few pictures of the decorations right before the party started!

The silverware with Curious George cutout
The silverware with Curious George cutout
Hundley's puppy chow party favors (I used baby food jars and made Muddy Buddies. Then I added the label and made the tops with a picture of Benaiah!)
Hundley’s puppy chow party favors (I used baby food jars and made Muddy Buddies. Then I added the label and made the tops with a picture of Benaiah!)
The yellow "hats"
The yellow “hats”
The tables
The tables
I had Curious George and the Birthday Surprise book for everyone to sign so he would know who came to his party!
I had Curious George and the Birthday Surprise book for everyone to sign so he would know who came to his party!
The awesome streamers my friend Danielle did!
The awesome streamers my friend Danielle did!
Pictures of Benaiah from his first year
Pictures of Benaiah from his first year
The front of his high chair. I made the cutouts with my Cricut
The front of his high chair. I made the cutouts with my Cricut
The dessert table (minus the punch my sister made). I made the banner with my Cricut. My friend Sarah made the cupcakes and put banana runts on top!
The dessert table (minus the punch my sister made). I made the banner with my Cricut. My friend Sarah made the cupcakes and put banana runts on top!

Then the party began! We had spaghetti (with whole wheat spaghetti and ground turkey), salad, bread (something VLCADD friendly ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and delicious cupcakes made by one of my best friends who is a FANTASTIC baker! She even made a cupcake specifically for Benaiah that he LOVED.

The birthday boy! He's not too sure what to think about his cake...
The birthday boy! He’s not too sure what to think about his cake…
He picked at it at first...
He picked at it at first…
Then, he picked up the whole thing.....
Then, he picked up the whole thing…..
and he ate it all!!
and he ate it all!!

And don’t forget the presents! Benaiah enjoyed “opening” his presents, but I think the other kids had more fun than he did ๐Ÿ˜‰

Opening gifts

IMG_8681

He loved his tractor from Nana and Papaw
He loved his tractor from Nana and Papaw
Curious George Jack in the Box, he loves playing Peek a Boo with it!
Curious George Jack in the Box, he loves playing Peek a Boo with it!
Walker from Grammy
Walker from Grammy

It was a really great time spent with family and friends.

IMG_8725 IMG_8722 IMG_8726 IMG_8721

Friends and family hanging out

My parents with my nephew

Thank you to everyone who was a part of his special day in one way or another!! We love you all!!

IMG_8731

Leave a Reply

