One Year Update!

I know in my last post I shared about the big birthday party, but I failed to mention the developments of his growth šŸ™‚

When we went to the pediatrician, Benaiah did great! He weighs just over 24 lbs and is 30.5 inches long. The doctor was very pleased with his development and told us he was in about the 70th percentile for both height and weight! That’s great news because a lot of babies that have VLCADD have a hard time gaining weight. That’s definitely not an issue with us šŸ™‚

After leaving the doctor, I knew I needed to contact our nutritionist with his updated information so she could tell us his new dietary restrictions. When she emailed me back, I was thrilled with what she told me. Benaiah could now go 6 hours between feedings (instead of the previous 5) and his fat grams per day increased from 5 to 12!! That’s very manageable and was very exciting to hear. Also he will be having 1% milk and we have to put MCT oil in three of his servings. That will be how he will get the majority of his fats. The fat from this oil is good fat that his body can digest.

Here is a picture I took on his birthday shortly after he had his first haircut!

20131122-135307.jpg

I haven’t really made any new recipes yet but I’m hoping to do that soon so I can share it on the blog!

Leave a Reply

